Derived from red seaweed, this natural thickener is mainly used as a gelling agent in desserts, puddings, pie fillings, and aspics. White and semi-translucent, it is sold in packages as washed and dried strips or in powdered form. It acts as a vegetarian alternative to animal-derived gelatin. This is perfect for vegans and vegetarians, both. Not only Agar Agar is a very strong gelling agent, it has no residual flavour or fragrance what so ever ? making it a perfect choice for making your favourite desserts and jellies.
- Derieved from Sea Weed or Kanten, Agar Agar is a popular vegan alternative to Gelatin
- Use this for baking, gelling and decorating food items
- Make attractive Jellies, Desserts, Asian Sweets etc. with Agar Agar
- Long shelf life (store in cool, dry place).
- 100% Vegetarian
Agar Agar is used as 100% vegetarian substitute for Gelatin (manufactured from animal bones and skin) in the food industry. The usage is fast gaining ground due to the worldwide shift for products of vegetable origin. Agar Agar has been used for many centuries as high performance gelling agent. Its ability to produce clear colourless, odourless, and natural gels without the support of other colloids has long been exploited by the food industry as a stabilising and gelling agent. Agar Agar gels at 34°C to 42°C and melts at 80°C to 98°C. This unmatched natural hysteresis offers a definite advantage particularly with regard to the shelf life of food preparations. Agar can also be used as a coagulator; thickening agent, emulsifier and stabiliser in the manufacture of confectionaries like gums, caramels, marshmallows etc.